2019 New Play Contest

Theatre Conspiracy at the Alliance for the Arts is no longer accepting submissions for its Annual New Play Contest. The next cycle begins between December 2019 and March 2020. All works submitted will be read and judged by a panel of qualified theatre teachers, directors and performers. Work submitted to the contest must be a full length play with seven actors or less and have simple to moderate technical demands. Play having up to three previous productions are welcome. No musicals please, as we are a tone deaf theatre company.

First place winners receive the Janet and Bruce Bunch Play Contest Award, $700 and a full production. However, it is our goal to produce more than one entry each year.

  1. To submit electronically, email your script to tcnewplaycontest@gmail.com. To send via snail mail, send complete script and check to the Alliance for the Arts ATTN: Bill Taylor 10091 McGregor Blvd. Fort Myers, FL 33919.
  2. Include biography of the playwright and character breakdown
  3. If submitting through snail mail and you would like to have the script returned, please include a self-addressed stamped envelope (SASE). If not, include SASE for results.
  4. We charge a nominal fee of $10 for submissions. If you are submitting a hardcopy of your script, please make checks payable to the Alliance for the Arts. Do not mail cash. Entry fee waived for members of The Dramatists Guild, but proof of membership is required in email or snail mail.
  5.  Deadline for submissions is postmark date of March 30, 2019. Do not spend $20 to overnight or second day your script. Save your money!
  6. Send your best script. One entry per playwright, per year.

If you are paying the fee, please fill out the below form. If you are part of The Dramatists Guild, please email your script to tcnewplaycontest@gmail.com.

  • View Past Winners
    1st Annual: Petia by Ray Hamby
    2nd Annual: Domestic Tranquility by Rich Orloff
    3rd Annual: 50 by Albi Gorn
    4th Annual: A Brief Introduction to Modern Astrology: Part One by D.T. Arcieri
    5th Annual: Money Matters by Carole Brendlinger
    6th Annual: The Frankenstein Summer by Catherine Bush
    7th Annual: Signs of Life by Deborah Brevoort
    8th Annual: It’s Your Funeral by Karl Tiedemann and Allen Lewis Rickman
    9th Annual: The Dunes by Craig Pospisil
    10th Annual: Maternal Spirits by James Caputo
    11th Annual: Time and Ina Meyerhoff by Alan Brody
    12th Annual: Cynthia’s Lament by Paul J. Lawrence
    13th Annual: Invasion of Privacy by Larry Parr
    14th Annual: Tower of Magic by Tess Light
    15th Annual: All My Raisins in the Son by John Twomey
    16th Annual: A Position of Relative Importance by Hal Borden
    17th Annual: Vacuum by Arlene Hutton
    18th Annual: Noli Timere by Jared Michael Delaney
    19th Annual: Repossessed by Greg Lam
    20th Annual: Engagement Rules by Rich Orloff

Our Sponsors

The Season Is Brought To You In Part by